Airport Supervisory Board re-constituted:
Current Mayor of Berlin remains Chairman of the Board

07.02.17 18:55

Today the Supervisory Board of Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg GmbH was re-constituted. After reaching the 2,000-employee mark, the company’s Supervisory Board was re-formed with 20 members to provide equal representation. Ten employee representatives were appointed as members of the Supervisory Board after elections. The remaining half of the seats were distributed amongst the partners Berlin, Brandenburg and federal government.

Michael Müller, current Mayor of Berlin, was re-elected Chairman of the Supervisory Board. The deputies are Holger Rößler, Secretary of the trade union ver.di – Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft for the Berlin area, as well as Secretary of State Rainer Bretschneider, Airport Coordinator for the State Chancellery of Brandenburg. New Supervisory Board members include for Berlin Dr. Dirk Behrendt, Senator for Justice, Consumer Protection and Anti-discrimination, as well as Dr. Klaus Lederer, Senator for Culture and Europe. And for Brandenburg Kerstin Jöntgen for the Board of Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg (from 01.07.2017), was appointed to the Supervisory Board.

The Executive reported the developments of the last few weeks and the current state of the project to the Supervisory Board. After several hours of consultation there was agreement that the shareholder resolution of 23.01.2017 should become part of the continuation of work. The emphasis is now on all project participants to work with the utmost urgency to solve critical problems. The Supervisory Board will closely follow this process, increase the frequency of their meetings and provide council every two months in future. During the next Supervisory Board meeting on 17th March, the airport company will present its revised business plan as the premise for further work in the current business year. The goal is to ensure that the airport company presents a reliable schedule for quick and secure opening of BER.

Michael Müller, current Mayor of Berlin: “In my capacity as Chairman of the Supervisory Board, I will follow completion of BER closely in the future. The top-level talk with representatives of two construction companies yesterday and the discussion today within the Supervisory Board have laid bare which construction problems must be tackled. I expect the airport company to pull together with the construction companies and, in the spring, present a detailed schedule for the opening.”

Dr. Karsten Mühlenfeld, CEO of Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg GmbH: “The Supervisory Board is demanding, rightly, a detailed plan of the next steps leading up to the opening. And we will deliver this plan. In order to be able to state valid data for an opening, certain premises must be fulfilled: approval for the 6th Amendment was issued on 27.01.2017. Structural completion of the building, as well as the inspection of the work in Mainpier North, is still outstanding. In addition, we still have to clarify under which conditions we can receive an early approval for use for trial operations.”

Overview of Supervisory Board members

Representatives of Berlin

Michael Müller, current Mayor of Berlin (Chairman of the Supervisory Board)
Dr.-Ing. Engelbert Lütke Daldrup, Secretary of State, Senate Chancellery
Dr. Dirk Behrendt, Senator, Senate Committee for Justice, Consumer Protection and Anti-discrimination
Dr. Klaus Lederer, Senator, Senate Committee for Culture and Europe

Representatives of Brandenburg

Rainer Bretschneider, Secretary of State, State Chancellery of Brandenburg, Airport Coordination (Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board)
Daniela Trochowski, Secretary of State, Ministry of Finance of the State of Brandenburg
Dr. Wolfgang Krüger, CEO, Cottbus Chamber of Industry and Commerce
Kerstin Jöntgen, Board Member (from 01.07.2017), Investitionsbank des Landes Brandenburg

Representatives of Federal Government

Rainer Bomba, Secretary of State, Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure
Werner Gatzer, Secretary of State, Federal Ministry of Finance

Employees‘ representatives

Claudia Heinrich, Chairwoman of Works Council, Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg GmbH
Peter Lindner, Chairman of Works Council, Berliner Flughafen-Gesellschaft mbH
Gerhard Voß, Works Council, Berliner Flughafen-Gesellschaft mbH
Olaf Christoph, Employee, Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg GmbH
Sven Munsonius, Employee, Berliner Flughafen-Gesellschaft mbH
Verena Schumann, Employee, Berliner Flughafen-Gesellschaft mbH
Ralph Struck, Manager, Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg GmbH
Holger Rößler, Trade Union Secretary, ver.di – Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft for the Berlin area (Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board)
Jens Gröger, Trade Union Secretary, ver.di – Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft for the Berlin area
Enrico Rümker, Trade Union Secretary, ver.di – Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft for the Berlin area

Hannes Stefan Hönemann

Hannes Stefan Hönemann Head of Corporate

+49 30 6091-70100

Daniel Tolksdorf

Daniel Tolksdorf Spokesperson

+49 30 6091-70100

Kathrin Westhölter

Kathrin Westhölter Spokesperson

+49 30 6091-70100